The Conference

Logistics | People | Participants

Working Conference Format

Day 1 | November 18, 2017

    • 7:15am to 7:55am: Registration and Continental Breakfast, ENR2 S107
    • 8am to 5pm: Working group activities, including Student Panel (Lunch Provided), ENR2 Second Floor & S107
    • 5:30pm-7:30pm: UA Hosted Welcome Reception, ENR 2 Courtyard

Day 2 | November 19, 2017

    • 7:15am to 7:55am: Registration and Continental Breakfast, ENR2 S107
    • 8am to 5pm: Working group activities, including Student Panel (Lunch Provided), ENR2 Second Floor & S107

Day 3 | November 20, 2017 (Recommendation Writers only)

    • 8 am to 1pm: Develop workshop summary and recommendations

A more detailed schedule is available here.

Venue and Parking

Environmental and Natural Resources 2 (ENR2) Building, 1064 E Lowell St, Tucson, AZ 85709

Conference Leadership

  • Guadalupe Lozano, PhD | Conference Chair - Associate Research Professor, UA Department of Mathematics
  • Vignesh Subbian, PhD | Conference Co-chair - Assistant Professor, UA College of Engineering
  • William Yslas Velez, PhD | Technical Program Chair, STEM - Professor, UA Department of Mathematics
  • Marla Franco, PhD | Technical Program Chair, Research - Director of Divisional Assessment & Research, UA Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
  • Anna O'Leary, PhD | Technical Program Chair, Social Sciences - Associate Professor, UA Department of Mexican American Studies

Program Committee

  • Margaret M. Briehl, PhD, Professor of Pathology and Vice Chair of the Cancer Biology Graduate Interdisciplinary Program, The University of Arizona.
  • Kimberly Sierra-Cajas, Director, Office of Undergraduate Research, College of Science, The University of Arizona, and co-founder of Arizona’s Science, Engineering, and Math Scholars Program (ASEMS)
  • Sara Chavarria, PhD, Assistant Director, STEM Learning Center and Assistant Dean, Research Development and Outreach, College of Education, The University of Arizona
  • Allison J. Huff, PhD, Education and Outreach Director, Center for Integrated Access Networks, The University of Arizona

  • Rudy B. McCormick III, Director, UA Early Academic Outreach, and Executive Director of Arizona Mathematics, Engineering, Science Achievement (MESA), a school-based STEM outreach program.
  • Mary J. Schaal, Ed., Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Arizona Western College
  • Elizabeth Soltero, MS, Director, Adalberto and Ana Guerrero Student Center, The University of Arizona
  • Frans Tax, PhD, Faculty Director for Diversity and Inclusion in the UA Graduate College, Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology, and the Faculty Director of the TRiO STEM ASEMS grant
  • Guadalupe Waitherwerch, MPH, HSI STEM Program Manager, Pima Community College

Collaborators and Advisory Board

  • Marta Civil, PhD, Professor and Roy F. Graesser Endowed Chair, Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona, AZ
  • Reetika Dhawan, MS, Dean of Career and Technical Education and Mathematics Faculty, Arizona Western College, AZ
  • Emily Halvorson-Otts, MA, Dean of Sciences, Pima Community College, AZ
  • William Jaco, PhD, Regents Professor, Grayce B. Kerr Chair, and Head, Department of Mathematics, Oklahoma State University, and Executive Director of the Initiative for Mathematics Learning by Inquiry, OK
  • Eric Lara, EdD, Associate Dean of Student Success and Equity, Mount San Antonio College, CA
  • Brian Mayer, PhD, Associate Professor School of Sociology, and the Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, The University of Arizona, AZ
  • Jose Maria Menendez, PhD, Program Director and Mathematics Faculty, Pima Community College, AZ

  • Virgil Pierce, PhD, Associate Dean for Student Success in the College of Sciences, Associate Professor of Mathematics, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, TX
  • Andrea Romero, PhD, Fitch Nesbitt Professor of Family Studies & Human Development, and Director of the Frances McClelland Institute for Children, Youth and Families, The University of Arizona, AZ
  • Gary A. Smith, PhD, Assistant Dean of Faculty Development in Education, College of Medicine, and Director of the STEM Gateway Program, University of New Mexico, NM
  • Laura Watkins, PhD, Mathematics Faculty and Developmental Program Lead, Maricopa County Community College District, Glendale Community College, AZ
  • Cindy Wyels, PhD, Professor of Mathematics, and Program Lead for STEM Service Courses Initiative, California State University Channel Islands, CA

NSF Grant-Writing Workshop

NSF Program Officers led a general half-day grant-writing workshop upon the closing of our Southwest STEM in HSI Conference.

This workshop was a stand-alone event, and not part of the STEM In HSI Conference. In particular, this workshop was not focused on any particular NSF program or solicitation. Staff from the NSF Division of Grants Administration was available to answers questions regarding pre- and post-award grants management.

Workshop Format

  • Overview of the NSF grant writing process, led as a general session
  • Overview of post-award procedures, including reporting, led as a general session
  • Guided critique/analysis of a sample of NSF-curated proposal materials, led as small break-out sessions